City Of Antelope, Oregon

City of Antelope, Wasco County, State of Oregon – USA

 


Welcome to Antelope

 

 

 

 

Antelope, Oregon is a quiet tiny residential city surrounded by ranches in Southern Wasco County. Our population is about 50. The City of Antelope, was incorporated first in 1896 and re-incorporated in 1901 under the laws of the State of Oregon.

The City of Antelope is governed by a non-partisan elected Mayor and four  City Councilors, all unpaid volunteers. The City of Antelope Office is the Antelope Community Center which is the location of council and other public meetings.


Contact information City of Antelope

Mailing Address: PO Box 105, Antelope, OR 97001.
Voicemail: 541-489-3201.
Email: admin@cityofantelope.us

Current City Officers:

Rodney Shanks, Acting Mayor (City Council President) r.shanks@cityofantelope.us
Jeanne Adams, City Councilor j.adams@cityofantelope.us
Adam Renk, City Councilor a.renk@cityofantelope.us
Betty Samul, City Councilor b.samul@cityofantelope.us

Appointed Officers:

Barbara Beasley, City Recorder  b.beasley@cityofantelope.us            Cody Flecker, Water Department  c.flecker@cityofantelope.us
Ed Hodges, City Engineer, Curran-Mcleod, Inc                                       eph@curran-mcleod.com
Mike Landis, City Volunteer Fire Fighters. m.landis@cityofantelope.us
Robin Moats, Fiscal Officer r.moats@cityofantelope.us


Regular City Council Meeting Date:

First Thursday of each Month at 7 p.m. Antelope Community Center, 94237 McGreer Street. The Antelope Community Center is handicapped accessible.


Memberships:

League of Oregon Cities
Oregon Association of Water Utilities
Mid–Columbia Economic Development District


Municipal Services:

The City of Antelope owns a municipal water system, and maintains city streets and street lights.

The City of Antelope leases land to private service providers that operate telecommunication and internet services.

The Antelope Community Center (formerly Antelope School) is owned by the City of Antelope. The Antelope Community Center is on the National Register of Historic Places


Other Governmental – Utility Services:

For information please contact the individual service providers.

TO REPORT FIRE EMERGENCIES DIAL 911

Law Enforcement:
The primary law enforcement agency is the Wasco County Sheriff located in The Dalles.

Emergency Medical and Ambulance:
The primary EMS service provider is Jefferson County EMS District offices located in Madras.

Schools:
Antelope is in the Jefferson County School District 509-J offices located in Madras. (Elementary and High School.)
Antelope is in the Columbia Gorge Community College District located in The Dalles.

Utilities:
Antelope is in the Wasco Electric Cooperative located in The Dalles.
(Antelope Telephone and Internet services are provided by Reliance Connects Inc. in Estacada.)

Building Permits:
Wasco County Building Codes Services Department issues building permits for the City of Antelope (subject to the city zoning and land-use plan).

Library:
Antelope is in the Jefferson County Library District located in Madras.

US Post Office:
Antelope has a US Post Office with the zip-code 97001.

FAIR HOUSING INFORMATION

It is the policy of the City of Antelope to provide for fair housing for all residents.

The federal Fair Housing Act protects your right to rent an apartment, buy a home, obtain a mortgage, or purchase homeowners insurance free from discrimination based on:

Race, Color, Religion, Gender, National Origin, Disability (mental and physical), Familial Status (presence of children under 18 in the home).

Links to Fair Housing Enforcement and Education Agencies:

  1. U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development: Fair Housing and Equal Opportunity
  2. Oregon Housing and Community Services (Public Housing Authority of Oregon) 
  3. Fair Housing Council of Oregon (Includes Legal Aid Assistance) 
  4. National Association of Realtors – Fair Housing Program
  5. Fair Housing Initiatives Program
  6. Fair Housing Act 
  7. National Fair Housing Alliance 
  8. FDIC Compliance with Fair Housing

The Fair Housing Council of Oregon (FHCO) is a statewide non-profit organization that provides a wide range of resources to communities. They promote equal housing by providing education, outreach, technical assistance, and enforcement opportunities. Their contact information is:Fair Housing Council of Oregon 506 SW 6th Ave, Ste 111, Portland, OR 97204 Phone: (503) 223-8295, (800) 424-3247
Email: information@fhco.org

Thank you for visiting The City of Antelope official web site.